Media, Money and Me

The past 24 hours have been a bit of a whirlwind and I’m tired! I struggled to sleep thinking about the impending interview on BBC Tees this morning. When the call came through at 7am I was shaking with nerves and as soon as the interview finished I wasn’t sure what I’d really said! The feedback from friends and family has been good though and my main critic (mam) has approved!
At lunchtime I saw that ITV Tyne Tees had posted my blog on to their website and after work a photographer came round to take pictures of Paul and I to feature in the Northern Echo tomorrow!
Whilst all of this is exciting and daunting for me it is important to recognise why I began writing this blog.
Paul is unemployed. What does this mean for us as a family of four? Obviously the financial impact is the biggest worry. We have a house…a really small house bought at possibly the worst time to buy a house this century. So small, in fact, it was pretty much impossible to live in once Monica joined the clan. Earlier this year we had our tiny house valued and it wasn’t worth what we’d paid for it. Having no savings we really needed to make money on the house to put a deposit down on something bigger. We did live, temporarily in Paul’s nana’s house and she moved into ours, to give us some much needed space for the girls. Living there was great but we weren’t managing to really make any progress with saving due to mortgage and bill payments along with the rest of the expenditure that comes with a growing family. In May we decided to ask Paul’s parents if we could move in with them so that we could focus on saving for a deposit. Living with them meant we could rent our little house out and bills would be covered by tenants. This would mean we could actually start to seriously make progress on finding a family home that could accommodate us nicely! So since May we have been trying to save and I expect these savings will now come in handy to cover the shortfall in wages that we will be facing until Paul is employed again.
We are lucky. I had a telephone call this week from the letting agent to tell me our tenants want to sign a further contract. This means our mortgage and bills will be paid for the next six months at least. We have a roof over our heads and know we can live here until we can eventually move on when things start improving. Other families affected by the SSI closure may not be so lucky. They have mortgages and rent to pay not to mention all the other bills that we all face every month. One of Paul’s colleagues welcomed his new baby daughter in to the world on Friday as news of the liquidation broke. Imagine his emotions right now. Another met and married a girl who also worked for SSI – now they are both out of work. As I said, we are lucky.
Paul received a decent wage. Enough for us to have two (oldish) cars, holidays, swimming and football classes for the girls, days and nights out when we wanted too. On reflection life has been pretty good. Tightening the purse strings is a necessity now and I can’t say I’m looking forward to it. Paul and I are good at spending! In fact I’m quite a pro. I’m going to have to learn to be a pro in thriftiness now and decide what is really necessary and what is not.
Our income will reduce by two-thirds. Paul will receive Job Seekers Allowance and we might be entitled to some financial support. I cancelled Honor’s swimming lessons today and we need to look at other ways to tighten our belts.
I hope those reading this can somehow sense the impact the SSI closure is having on ordinary, hardworking families. Paul is still struggling and I don’t think he will really feel normal until he is working again. Let’s hope it won’t take too long.

Media, Money and Me

10 thoughts on “Media, Money and Me

  1. Wendy says:

    Thinking of you always.
    As someone who’s gone from a full time decent wage to a part time.. Min wage I understands the struggles of tightening the purse strings… I do think twice about luxuries. But we are fed, have a roof over our head and and clean clothes. And a family that love us.

    I know to well this is you too. The swimming lessons will take a back burner but she can resume them again it won’t harm her at all. Xxx
    Love to you all my dear friend. Xx

    Like

  2. Angela pine says:

    I really feel for you Anna. We faced redundancy a few years back and the financial worry was awful. Luckily it did not happen but that feeling of panic has stayed with us. Hopefully things will turn out good for Paul and the others but until then life is very much different. X

    Like

  3. […] I set up my blog a while ago and it wasn’t until recently I decided to post it …I’ve been on twitter as “themummyblog” and started posting tweets about a year ago but now I have actually decided to do it properly…. My friend Anna inspired me… she recently had some bad news, her husband lost his job and she asked me for feedback n her blog.  It is  brilliant and please if your reading this read hers too! https://steelworkerswifeblog.wordpress.com/2015/10/06/media-money-and-me/ […]

    Like

  4. Jill White says:

    Anna, I have just found your blog via a friend and I love love love it. Well done you -please please keep on keeping on. Much love to you and your family. Thinking of all of you.

    Like

      1. Karen steedman says:

        My husband has also been made redundant from SSI and for the past two weeks since all this came about the worry of how we will cope has been awful, My husband has allways been the wage earner in the home as my youngest daughter has special needs and I have always stayed at home until april this year I got a little job in a school two hours a day which works brilliant round my daughter’s school but my job is really pocket money until now its the only wage we are getting, I worry for my husband as he has worked there for over 20 years and his skills arent really transferable to another job and also with the refundancy package they will receive he will lose just over 20,000, The whole situation is heartbreaking and I really worry how we will keep our home, Loving reading your blog xxxx

        Like

      2. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a comment. I’m really sorry for what you are going through and all the other families out there affected by this. I just hope the lads get what they are owed, although I doubt it, and at least manage to get back I to work quickly. We thought he was made getting a job there but just goes to show you can’t take anything for granted. I’m glad you’re enjoying reading the blog, I’m finding it very therapeutic and the interest it has stimulated has given us something to focus on this week. It’s not every day you get on TV and I the papers! Take care and thanks again x

        Like

  5. Catherine says:

    I think you r wonderful putting this challenging time out there and showing people the reality of what we face when this happens to large companies.
    Having experienced bankruptcy loss of job certainty and being the main wage earner in the family I am chronically aware of how hard this is but see how close you and Paul are and well supported and know you will get through. I applaud you for the way you are sharing this!!!

    Like

  6. Debbie M says:

    I’d like to say thank you for sharing your experiences so far. The closure is being felt by so many, many families and I hope for all there will be positive news for all of them. Your description of it being a rollercoaster ride is perfect as we’ve lived with it for many years and didn’t think it would ever come to an end. My hubby has been there for 33 years and his work colleges are his extended family. I hope that things look up for you soon xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your message, it means a lot. Wow 33 years! After only 4 years Paul has made some wonderful friends and he is so disappointed it’s over. All we want is for him to get back into the working world soon. I’m sure he will. Good luck to you x

      Like

Leave a Reply

